Mean Girls, Lisa Frankenstein, Drive-Away Dolls, Miller’s Girl, Imaginary

Mean Girls dir. Arturo Perez Jr., Samantha Jayne

Watched: January 18th, Vue Cinema

Plastic is forever

Yes, I’ll admit straight off the bat, this isn’t a critically acclaimed film; it’s not going to win any major awards, but if you didn’t think it was fun, you might as well just take the title of big fat bore right now. It’s cheesy, it’s camp, it’s fun. It’s far from perfect, but it works.

Lisa Frankenstein dir. Zelda Williams

Watched: February 29th

If you can’t meet your perfect boyfriend… make him

This is such a good film! Oh my God! It is right up my street, but I didn’t think I’d actually enjoy it as much as I did. I’m still fairly new to Kathryn Newton as an actress, but she played this role so perfectly. Her role of Lisa was easily on of my favourite performances of the year so far. It’s so clearly set in the 80’s and I love the entire aesthetic of it, Lisa, and especially her house. It reminds me of The Pink Palace from Coraline.

Drive-Away Dolls dir. Ethan Coen

Watched: March 23rd

A story of two ladies going south

I did think I’d enjoy this more than I eventually ended up doing so. It’s a good film, don’t get me wrong, but I wasn’t hooked all the way throughout. I enjoyed the story; it had enough laughs to keep me watching, but personally, it doesn’t hold the rewatchability I thought it would. Of all of the characters in the film, I think that Beanie Feldstein performed the best, and she wasn’t even in it a great deal.

Miller’s Girl dir. Jade Halley Bartlett

Watched: April 4th

Write what you want

No. Just no. A terrible film and I don’t know why I entertained it.

Imaginary dir. Jeff Wadlow

Watched: April 5th

Meet Chauncey. He’s not imaginary. And he’s not your friend

Tell me why this is Coraline for an older audience. I don’t enjoy children in horror films so this one was a tedious watch for me. I just can’t stand their whining. I don’t care if your teddy bear is out to kill you and your family. Shut up. Back to this film. Yes, it was alright, but nothing really to shout about. I like to talk about rewatchability when it comes to discussing how much I enjoyed a film. I think if it was on the TV I’d probably watch it again if it was the only choice, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to to put it on out of choice.

Find me online here!

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.