327. Dark Corners (2023) by Megan Goldin

“Terence Bailey is about to be released from prison for breaking and entering, though investigators have long suspected him in the murders of six women. As his freedom approaches, Bailey gets a surprise visit from Maddison Logan, a hot, young influencer with a huge social media following. Hours later, Maddison disappears, and police suspect she’s been kidnapped—or worse. Is Maddison’s disappearance connected to her visit to Bailey? Why was she visiting him in the first place? When they hit a wall in the investigation, the FBI reluctantly asks for Rachel’s help in finding the missing influencer. Maddison seems only to exist on social media; she has no family, no friends, and other than in her posts, most people have never seen her. Who is she, really? Using a fake Instagram account, Rachel Krall goes undercover to BuzzCon, a popular influencer conference, where she discovers a world of fierce rivalry that may have turned lethal. When police find the body of a woman with a tattoo of a snake eating its tail, the FBI must consider a chilling possibility: Bailey has an accomplice on the outside and a dangerous obsession with influencers, including Rachel Krell herself. Suddenly a target of a monster hiding in plain sight, Rachel is forced to confront the very real dangers that lurk in the dark corners of the internet.”

⭐⭐✨

Do you ever get so far through a book and realise that you missed the first one? That was my experience with Megan Goldin’s newly released Dark Corners, out on the 16th just gone!

It’s not the first time I’ve read the second in a series before the first, but this time around, I was fine as these books are a series based on different stories in a character’s life. 

Usually, I’d devour something along the lines of this, but unfortunately, it took me so long to read and I just wasn’t a fan of it the more I read. Rachel Krall is a true crime podcaster, and the stories of The Night Swim (which I’m yet to read!) and Dark Corners are two (as far as I know) completely different from one another.

At the time of writing this, I finished the book about a week and a half ago, and I will admit that I can’t really remember much from it other than Rachel is a podcaster trying to find out the cause behind someone’s disappearance/possible death. I do remember, however, a lot of drawn-out convention stuff that I 100% believe could have been cut and the story would have been just as effective.

I think the reason I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would due to how drawn out it was. I found myself forgetting what had happened, and sometimes, it went so off track that I thought that the case wouldn’t actually be solved.

Canelo was kind enough to send me an e-arc of Dark Corners last month, and Tandem was kind enough to send me copies of both of Megan’s books last week for their Dark Corners release mailout. Thank you to both!

All the love,

Jade x

Find me online!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.