306. The Summer Girl (July 2023) by Jenny Blackhurst

“Claire’s little sister Holly has been working on the millionaire’s playground of Martha’s Vineyard for the summer, all barefoot beach parties and flirting with the local rich kids. But now she’s missing and none of the locals seem to care, including the police. They think a message Claire received is proof she’s safe. But Claire knows for a fact that’s impossible. What will she have to risk to find out the truth? Who are the locals protecting? And what does it have to do with another girl who went missing five years ago? It’s going to be a summer she’ll never forget.”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Publication Date: July 13th 2023

Jenny Blackhurst (she/her) is an author that I don’t think I’d heard of before picking up The Summer Girl, but I think that she has really good potential to become an author I find myself reading more of in the future.

This one is a very solid thriller that I can’t fault. It follows the typical tropes, and bonus point, it’s set on a small holiday island where the sister of our main character goes missing. It could defintely be a 5 star read to others, but due to the fact that I read so many thrillers, this one wasn’t one that blew me away, but it was still a good one.

It did have somewhat of a slow start but once it got to the point, it was a fast read all the way through, but not without the odd confusing part here and there, but what’s new for me? I had a load of theories as to what could have happened, and while a lot of reviews are saying it was predictable, I personally don’t think it was until the actual lead up to the reveal. Speaking of the reveal, I wasn’t the biggest fan of how it played out, but I did like how every tied back to the past.

Thank you to Canelo and NetGalley for the ARC!

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.