298. Though the Bodies Fall (August 2023) by Noel O’Regan

“Micheal Burns lives alone in his family’s bungalow at the end of Kerry Head in Ireland. It is a picturesque place, but the cliffs have a darker side to for generations they have been a suicide black spot. Micheal’s mother saw the saving of these lost souls – these visitors – as her spiritual duty, and now, in the wreckage of his life, Micheal finds himself continuing her work. When his sisters tell him that they want to sell the land, he must choose between his siblings and the visitors, a future or a past.”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Publication Date: August 3rd 2023

Content Warning: suicide, miscarriage, domestic abuse

This is a book I thought would be a thriller in some way, but it just ended up being something that I wasn’t really interested in. I don’t think literaty fiction is for me, as much as I try.

While I found the beginning promising, I just never thought it picked up after that. I do feel I would have enjoyed it a lot more had it held some thriller elements, but I understand that not everything has to have an ulterior motive.

A short one for a book I know a lot of other readers are going to enjoy.

Thank you to Granta Books for the ARC!

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.