293. The Hotel (June 2023) by Louise Mumford

Four of them went to the hotel. Four students travel to Ravencliffe, an eerie abandoned hotel perched on steep cliffs on the Welsh coast. After a series of unexplained accidents, only three of them leave. The fourth, Leo, disappears and is never seen again. Only three of them came back. A decade on, the friends have lost contact. Oscar is fame-hungry, making public appearances and selling his story. Richard sank into alcoholism and is only just recovering. Bex just wants to forget – until one last opportunity to go back offers the chance to find out what really happened to Leo. Ten years later, they return one last time. But as soon as they get to the hotel things start going wrong again. Objects mysteriously disappear and reappear. Accidents happen. And Bex realises that her former friends know far more than they are letting on about the true events at Ravencliffe that night…”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Publication Date: June 22nd 2023

The Hotel gives off Blair Witch vibes but done a whole lot better, and they don’t all die. I notoriously hate The Blair Witch Project, but I loved this book.

10 years ago, Bex travelled to an abandoned castle on the Welsh coast with 3 of her friends in the summer before they were set to start university, but only 3 of them returned home. They had set out to make a film about the abandoned hotel, Ravencliffe, but that night was only filled with unexplained accident after accident, including the disappearance of Bex’s best friend, Leo. 10 years on, the little film that was eventually cut together gained a mass amount of fans, naming themselves the Ravens, after the hotel.

The company that bought the rights to the film have organised a 10-year reunion, and while Bex is hesitant to agree to it at first, she eventually joins Richard and Oscar in setting foot back into Ravencliffe for the first time in a decade.

This is a book that had me hooked from the get-go, and I 100% thought that I’d end up giving it 5 stars, but there must have been something that stopped me from doing so. I think it might have been the last 10 or so per cent. I wasn’t the biggest fan of how things wrapped up, but as for the rest of the book; fabulous, and a read I think will be on my list that I always recommend to people.

After reading this one, I think that Louise Mumford (she/her) might be an author I’ll look into again in the future. I rather enjoyed her writing style and how she kept me interested throughout; never knowing what to expect next.

Thank you to HQ Digital and NetGalley for the ARC!

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.