291. Bunny (2019) by Mona Awad

“Samantha Heather Mackey couldn’t be more of an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at New England’s Warren University. A scholarship student who prefers the company of her dark imagination to that of most people, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort–a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other “Bunny,” and seem to move and speak as one. But everything changes when Samantha receives an invitation to the Bunnies’ fabled “Smut Salon,” and finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door–ditching her only friend, Ava, in the process. As Samantha plunges deeper and deeper into the Bunnies’ sinister yet saccharine world, beginning to take part in the ritualistic off-campus “Workshop” where they conjure their monstrous creations, the edges of reality begin to blur. Soon, her friendships with Ava and the Bunnies will be brought into deadly collision.”

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Content Warning: Graphic animal death, animal cruelty, gore. Minor death of a parent

Bunny was a book I bought thinking that I’d love it. I have never been more confused when reading a book in my life. Yes, it holds an amazing premise, but for me, it just didn’t do the job I thought and hoped it would.

Don’t get me wrong, I did rather enjoy the first part, but by the time the second part came around, it was becoming confusing and only got more from there on. I have a thing of not wanting to DNF books lately, so I soldiered through and finished, thinking that I could maybe piece some things together and make some things make sense, but it wasn’t worth it. I had no idea what was going on then, and I still don’t now, even after reading other reviews. A lot of people seem to be with me when it comes to the confusion.

This was far too complex of a read for me and it felt like the way it reads could have easily been simplified, not “dumbed down”, the vocabulary just felt unnecessarily over the top throughout.

I don’t actually have anything else to say as I don’t really know what else there is to talk about. Confusion, for me, is the biggest thing I got from this book and I think I’ve already got that covered.

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.