280. My Heart Is a Chainsaw (2021) by Stephen Graham Jones

“Jade Daniels is an angry, half-Indian outcast with an abusive father, an absent mother, and an entire town that wants nothing to do with her. She lives in her own world, a world in which protection comes from an unusual source: horror movies…especially the ones where a masked killer seeks revenge on a world that wronged them. And Jade narrates the quirky history of Proofrock as if it is one of those movies. But when blood actually starts to spill into the waters of Indian Lake, she pulls us into her dizzying, encyclopedic mind of blood and masked murderers, and predicts exactly how the plot will unfold. Yet, even as Jade drags us into her dark fever dream, a surprising and intimate portrait emerges… a portrait of the scared and traumatized little girl beneath the Jason Voorhees mask: angry, yes, but also a girl who easily cries, fiercely loves, and desperately wants a home. A girl whose feelings are too big for her body. My Heart Is a Chainsaw is her story, her homage to horror and revenge and triumph.”

⭐ ⭐

23 Books In 2023 – Book 6 of 23

Content Warning: Graphic gore, suicide attempt, murder, moderate rape, sexual assault, child abuse

This is a book that I thought I’d adore, but, unfortunately, it was one of the worst books I think I’ve ever read. I hate to slate books, but this one just wasn’t for me. Yes, it was chock full of horror references, but that might have been the only thing about this book that I somewhat enjoyed.

No matter how far into this book I got, the writing just never seemed to make sense to me, and as for the plot, if I were to understand the writing, I just don’t think it would be something that I would enjoy.

Jade is one of those characters that you can never seem to trust, and she may just be one of, if not the most, unreliable narrators I have ever read. She is clearly a character that is not mentally well, and when those around her try to help her, she pushes them away when they only want to the best for her.

A short one, but I don’t really like to deep dive into books that I didn’t have fun reading.

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.