256. Daisy Jones & The Six (2019) by Taylor Jenkins Reid

“A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous break up. Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the real reason why they split at the absolute height of their popularity…until now. Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go-Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things. Another band getting noticed is The Six, led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road. Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.”

⭐ ⭐

Trigger Warning: drug use/abuse, addiction, alcoholism, abortion, mental illness

Daisy Jones & The Six is told in a unique format, and while I was enjoying it at the start, I found myself becoming rather bored just before the half way mark, but I pushed through and finished it, and I can say that this one is nothing on Evelyn Hugo. Much like Colleen Hoover books, I think this might be the end of my Taylor Jenkins Reid (she/her) journey. It’s nothing to do with her personally, it’s just that nothing else really interests me at this moment in time.

This book tells the story of the band Daisy Jones & The Six, and the truth about why they split up. Told in the style of one long interview, we get to see first hand how the band came to be and then why they are no longer. It’s told in such a way that would make you think that this band were a real one, and not only fictional. I’d love to see some actual bands get this treatment; an exposé of sorts; a tell all.

Everyone that I’ve seen talking about this book seems to love it, and I think that it’s proof that everyone really does have a different opinion. I did enjoy the beginning, but as it progressed it just wasn’t what I wanted from it, and I hate that; I hate not liking books that everyone seems to love.

As this is told through interviews, it is hard to determine a solid plot, as the story keeps jumping back and forth between now and then; now when the band is being interviewed, and the past that they are recalling. One thing I didn’t expect was who the interviewer was, and I’d consider that the plot twist, and it was an alright one at that.

Overall, I definitely think that I expected something completely different than the final product, and it wasn’t something that I raved over.

All the love,

Jade x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.