196. City of Bones (2007) by Cassandra Clare

“When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…”

First read (2017): ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Second read (2022): ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

It is scrape the barrel bare minumum, but you can read my original post for City of Bones here!

When I first read City of Bones back in 2017, I had doubted it so much before I actually finished it, but now look at me, The Shadowhunter Chronicles is my favourite book series, so what better time than the new year to reread them all before a new one is released, whenever that may be. I hope it’s sometime this year.

This series holds such a special place in my heart, but my reread reviews aren’t going to be much to look at as I already have something up for each of them, and they’re also not going to be in my little Shadowhunters category at the top of my page as they’re no way in depth, so for now,

Much love,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.