It’s a Scream Baby!: Scream 5 Theories

I’ve been saying for the longest time how much I want another Scream movie, so you can only imagine my excitement when it was announced that there was going to be a fifth installment of the franchise. I had always doubted that there would be another one as Wes Craven, the director of the 4 existing Scream movies, passed away in 2015.

The plot for Scream 5 is about a woman who returns to her home town to try to find out who has been committing a series of vicious crimes. Much like the plot of the already existing movies, there will obviously be a murder or two, and is set to be released January 14th, 2022. The next installment will be directed by ‘Ready or Not’ (2019) directors, Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillet.

Possible Scream 5 logo

Here, I will be going over some theories for the new movie that I think could potentially be true, but some of them have been out there since the original trilogy of the franchise, so they will be less likely to be true, but here’s to hoping, I suppose.

1. One Of The Woodsboro Trio Will Die

Neve Campbell (Sidney Prescott), David Arquette (Dewey Riley), and Courteney Cox (Gale Weathers)

My bets would be on Sidney (Neve Campbell). As much as I don’t want any of the original three to die, I think Sidney would be the one who does if any of them happened to do so, Dewey (David Arquette) has survived all he’s endured so far so why kill him off now? I thought that Neve Campbell could take over the role that Drew Barrymore had in the first film, and the new Ghostface could be targeting a new group of people for a completely unrelated reason, making them some sort of copy cat in some sense. I’m not too sure how I’d feel if this was something that happened because Neve is now a Scream Queen, and you don’t see Laurie Stode (Jamie Lee Curtis) being killed in Halloween’ (1978), do you? It’s a basic rule that the scream queens always survive.

2. Scream 3 Original Plot

Kevin Williamson revealed that there were other versions of ‘Scream 3’ (2000) written, and then ultimately scrapped for what we now know as ‘Scream 3’. One of the original ideas, that I love, is that Stu Macher (Matthew Lillard) had somehow survived a TV to the head and was orcestrating the killings from inside of prison, but this idea did not make the final cut as it involved high school students being murdered, which would have been insentitive to the Columbine High School shooting a year before ‘Scream 3’ was released. Even though I really enjoyed what we have as the third installment, I do think this could have went down better with fans, so, just maybe, they could recycle the idea for the new installment, with some obvious chages, and finally bring this idea to the big screen. Lillard did send out a tweet speaking about his fate in the first film.

3. Kirby Is Still Alive

Hayden Panettiere (Kirby Reed)

After Kirby (Hayden Panettiere) had been stabbed by Charlie (Rory Culkin) during the events of ‘Scream 4’ (2011), she slightly rolls her body, making the audience think that she is not really dead, and Wes Craven’ eventually revealed that he decided to keep this small frame in to expkand of Kirby’s story, whether she is still alive or not. I for one, definitely think that Kirby somehow survived what happend in ‘Scream 4’. (2011) There must be a reason he didn’t want it cut.

4. The Making of a New Stab Movie

We all know of the infamous Stab movies that came from the events of the first ‘Scream (1996) movie. This movie could be making a new ‘Stab’ movie, which is why Sidney and co. are still around, they are living proof of the Ghostface murders. There could have even been more murders since Scream 4, and  the original trio could be coming back to help solve them, as they’ve survived this far. If you remember Robbie (Erik Knudsen) from ‘Scream 4’, you will remember that he pretty much always had a camera headset on, and since he was murdered, a film could be made including the footage that he captured on the headset, as it was always on, I assume. In the ‘Scream 4’ extended ending, after Dewey and Gale visit Sidney in her hospital room, he says something along the lines of “lets wait for the movie“, which could have been a clue that we are getting the making of a movie in a movie.

5. Dewey Has Been Orchestrating The Whole Time

There are a lot of people who think that Dewey has orcastrated the whole thing, from the get go. He was clearly infatuated with Sidney in the first movie, and even though he was married to Gale in the fourth film, who’s to say it wasn’t just a front to hide the fact that he’s still obsessed with her. He could have called for Tatum (Rose McGowan), his sister, and Sidney’s best friend, to be killed because she was always protective of her after she was attacked. Him being the mind behind it all would answer the one question on everyone’s mind. How has he survived all he has faced over the course of the four movies. He has been stabbed at least twice, and in the fourth film, he was hit, violently may I add, across the head multiple times with a bed pan. Something doesn’t sit right with me that he has somehow survived all of this out of sheer luck.

6. Billy Had A Son

For some reason, I really want Wes (Dylan Minnette) to be the son of someone from early on in the franchise. Maybe Billy (Skeet Ulrich) had an affair, much like his father, and Minette’s character is what came from the affair. For this to happen, though, the new film couldn’t be set in the present day as Minette and the other new actors working on this film are quite young, and it could be set a few years after the events of ‘Scream 4’, making the new characters 20 years old at most. If in the new film, most of the cast are going to be high school age, they would have had to be around 13 years old in 2011 during the events of Scream 4, and for them to be around 16/17 in ‘Scream 5’, it would be set around 2014 to 2016. Don’t hold me against this, though, because my math skills are absolutely terrible. I really like this idea and I am going to be so upset when it turns out that I couldn’t be more wrong, mainly for the amount of time it took me to work out that tiny but of math.

(I love the fact that Minnette’s character is named Wes, a tribute to the late Wes Craven, which is also what makes me think he has an important role in Scream 5)

(Since writing this post, it has been revealed that Minnette’s character’s full name is Wes Hicks, meaning he’s the son, or some relation, of Deputy Judy Hicks (Marley Shelton) from the fourth film, so it looks like this theory may have already been debunked. It was a good one though.)

7. The Killer Has Been There The Whole Time

The iconic Ghostface mask

If ‘Scream 5’ is going to truly be the final installment in the franchise, there has been nothing said about a 6th installment, I want the killer to be someone who has been there from the very beginning. Much like theory 6, the killer being someone who have been there the whole time would be a great twist for this movie. I’m not sure who could be the killer if this were to happen, other than Dewey. If this were to happen, they would probably pull a ‘Scream 3’ “they’ve always been there”, which is no slander to the third film because I actually love it, despite all the hate it gets.

Jamie Kennedy (Randy Meeks)

While there are a lot of theories that I do think could somehow happen, there is one in particular that I see a lot of people discussing that I don’t think would work. That being that Randy (Jamie Kennedy) faked his death in ‘Scream 2’ (1997). As much of a horror buff he was, I don’t think that he would have been aable to plan that far ahead, and for him to never be seen after he died would be tricky to pull off, even for him. People do argue that he left the video tape in ‘Scream 3’, and who would be smart enough to think that far ahead in the future, but I say he was just a really well prepared person. I don’t think it was necessarily needed to include this tape, but it is a nice, almost Easter egg for his character to be included in every movie of the original trilogy.

8. Kyle Gallner’s Instagram Handle

This is a stupid one, and even I know that, but there is just something about Kyle Gallner’s Instagram handle. I will admit, I only started following him when he was announced to be in the new movie, and his username has stuck with me since, and I’m not sure how long his handle has been ‘kylegface’. Personally, I look at that and think “Kyle Ghostface” for obvious reasons, so before I’ve even seen a trailer, I have a stupid inkling that his character will be the, or one of, the killers. Stupid, I know, but you never know, it might not be a huge coincidence.

There you have it, 8 (ish) theories of what I think could possibly happen in the next Scream movie, I can’t wait to look back on them in over a year’s time once the movie has been released.

One thought on “It’s a Scream Baby!: Scream 5 Theories

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.