137. Ghosts of the Shadow Market (2019) by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 4 stars

“The Shadow Market is a meeting point for faeries, werewolves, warlocks and vampires. There the Downworlders buy and sell magical objects, make dark bargains, and whisper secrets they do not want the Nephilim to know. Through two centuries, however, there has been a frequent visitor to the Shadow Market from the City of Bones, the very heart of the Shadowhunters. As a Silent Brother, Brother Zachariah is sworn keeper of the laws and lore of the Nephilim. But once he was a Shadowhunter called Jem Carstairs, and his love, then and always, is the warlock Tessa Gray. Follow Brother Zachariah and see, against the backdrop of the Shadow Market’s dark dealings and festive celebrations, Anna Lightwood’s first romance, Matthew Fairchild’s great sin and Tessa Gray plunged into a world war. Valentine Morgenstern buys a soul at the Market and a young Jace Wayland’s soul finds safe harbor. In the Market is hidden a lost heir and a beloved ghost, and no one can save you once you have traded away your heart. Not even Brother Zachariah…”

It’s fair to say that I enjoyed this one a lot more than Cassandra Clare’s other short story bind ups. I think it’s because I love Jem, and have done since The Infernal Devices trilogy, and i was so happy when he appeared in The Dark Artifices, too. Even though I love Magnus, (The Bane Chronicles) Ghosts of the Shadow Market was better suited to me.

I feel like all of these bind ups are a nice little way to be back in the Shadow World without having to re-read the books, but that is always an open option I a willing to do.

I love how this one takes place from the 1900’s to present day, and pretty much every Shadowhunter family we already know are in this bind up somehow.

Much like all of the other Shadowhunter bind ups I’ve read, I wish I had reviewed each short story as I had finished them so I had more to write about. It’s become a thing that I don’t have much to say about books that I enjoyed, and the books that I didn’t I have too much to say, oh god.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.