135. Bridget Jones’s Diary (1996) by Helen Fielding

Rating: 4 stars

Meet Bridget Jones—a 30-something Singleton who is certain she would have all the answers if she could:
a. lose 7 pounds
b. stop smoking
c. develop Inner Poise

“123 lbs. (how is it possible to put on 4 pounds in the middle of the night? Could flesh have somehow solidified becoming denser and heavier? Repulsive, horrifying notion), alcohol units 4 (excellent), cigarettes 21 (poor but will give up totally tomorrow), number of correct lottery numbers 2 (better, but nevertheless useless)…”

I grew up watching the Bridget Jones movie, which could be the main reason why I love the bones off of Colin Firth, and the book is, in my opinion, nothing like the movie, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Even though this book has the word diary in the title, I never expected it to be formatted as an actual diary, and because it is, it made me enjoy it that little bit more. I’m such a nosy person, and reading someone’s diary made me feel like I got to know the character more than I could have if it was written like a typical book, with chapters and all.

I think if you enjoyed the film and wanted to give the book a go, I wouldn’t be sure what to recommed. One one hand, it would be a different experience due to the large number of differences, and on the other hand, it wouldn’t be what you expected, so I’d say stick to the movie if you expected things to be the same.

I feel like, even though I enjoyed it, I would have enjoyed it a whole lot more if it was formatted like your typical book as there would be more room to explore pretty much everything, whereas a diary is limited to one person, and only one person’s thoughts, and we can’t properly see how characters are feeling.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.