129. Book the Second: The Reptile Room (1999) by Lemony Snicket

Rating: 5 stars

“Dear Reader, If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale, I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery. In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the appearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again. I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter. With all due respect, Lemony Snicket.”

Dear Reader,

I may have only read the first two of these books, but I just know I am going to love them all! Just like the first one, I thought that this was such a quick and easy read, and I love it when I can start reading a book, and not realise how much time has passed since I first picked it up. I find it very hard to find a book like that these days, but I just know that I am going to have so much fun reading this series.

In this book, we follow the Baudelaire siblings as they live with their Uncle Monty, but just like the first book, nothing good happens to them along the way, and the author does such a good job narrating their unfortunate situations, and it made me feel like I was there, watching their lives unfold from the sidelines.

Much like I said in my review for The Bad Beginning, I can imagine reading this book to a child, and making it almost interactive, by putting on voices, and having them make sound effects to go along with it. I really wish I had read these books when I was younger than I am now, and reading for the first time, as I feel it would be such a nostalgic series to look back on, and love just as much since the first time you read them. I just know I’m going to love all of the books for years to come.

With all due respect,

Jade Evans.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.